OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Help an newbie

Started by 10ga.Trauma, February 13, 2013, 12:06:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

10ga.Trauma

Hey im new to the sport, and am from northern Indiana, there are a decent number of birds around, but its pretty tought to get permission to hunt in the subdivisions and small tree lots they call home. Does anyone have andy advice for scouting birds outside of an area that the scouter knows well, how to find birds well before season so he can beat the other hunters to asking for permission, and the best way to go about asking for permission, any tips would be helpful. Thanks!

atoler

look on your state game website, and look at any public land within an hour of you.

I assume that much of your area is ag land? if so, ride the back roads with binoculars in the evenings and mark where you see birds. Then go knock on doors. There are several ways to make this more effective. offer to help with chores, offer them a little bit of money, or take a youngster with you. Make sure you are wearing decent clothes when you go to asking people, they will feel more comfortable about you hunting on their land.

alex_sebh

The permission part isn't answered, but there's a lot of good scouting info at https://southeasternbowhunting.com/how-to-turkey-hunt/. Talks about e-scouting, boots-on-the-ground scouting finding sign, listening for gobbles, and setting up on them. Hope this helps!

Lcmacd 58

All good advice ..... scouting is crucial. It gets harder each and every year to get permission from land owners but you dont know if you dont ask. Public land is pretty easy to locate if all else fails with the land owners. I hunt public land almost exclusively and believe me it takes alot of time but it is possible.  I know this is real general but get started early and over time itll be worth it.

Paulmyr