turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Late season South Dakota

Started by Kygobblergetter, May 08, 2020, 06:28:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kygobblergetter

I am heading to hunt the black hills of South Dakota for the first time ever May 16th. I know this is pretty late in the season does anybody know what to expect as far as how the birds are likely to be acting? Any other advice will be appreciated too as I'm new to hunting merriams

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

fallhnt

They don't act like Easterns. They travel far.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

When I turkey hunt I use a DSD decoy

Greg Massey

Good luck with your hunt and safe travels ..

Mossberg90MN

Sounds fun, let us know how it goes! I hope to one day make it out there sometime and chase Merriams

Spring Creek Calls

Depending on how long your hunt will last, you should be beyond the henned up all day stage which can be very productive. Be prepared to cover some ground and stay out as long as possible, especially late morning. Be safe and let us know how you do.
2014  SE Call Makers Short Box 2nd Place
2017  Buckeye Challenge Long Box 5th Place
2018  Mountain State Short Box 2nd Place
2019  Mountain State Short Box 1st Place
2019  NWTF Great Lakes Scratch Box 4th Place
2020 NWTF GNCC Amateur 5th Place Box
2021 Mountain State 3rd Place Short Box
2021 SE Callmakers 1st & 2nd Short Box
E-mail: gobblez@aol.com

cutt down

Following....headed out the 16th also.....hunting the 19th through 22nd.

Hobbes

Cover ground calling and don't give up.  If a tom isn't interested early morning, he will likely change his mind mid to late morning if you can keep track of him.  Call to the hens if he's got them.

I like late season unless the weather gets hot.  It seems to slow them down.  Cool mornings and mild afternoons are my preference.  I may find less gobbling, but those that do are killable birds.

Kygobblergetter