turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Winchester SX3

Started by apexpredator, January 28, 2017, 01:15:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

apexpredator

Hello everyone. I am new hunter primarily hunting hog but with a few deer under my belt I would like to try my hand at turkey this coming spring and fall. I being a complete newbie I don't know much about chokes, loads, calls etc. I purchased a 12 gauge  Winchester SX3 with a 28" barrel a few years ago but have not done anything with it until now. I would like to know where to start as far as loads and chokes go. What do you recommend? I would like to know what will more than likely work best for me. Should I invest in a speed bead? I am cross eye dominant so it is difficult for me to shoot with both eyes open. I am very excited about going to look for some birds on my lease come spring but I want to get all of these things dialed starting now. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

wvmntnhick

:welcomeOG:

First off, the gun you have is no good. Just box it up and I'll give you my address so it can be properly disposed of without making you feel guilty about doing so.  :TooFunny:

You're starting off great actually. The browning/Winchester guns are great. Smooth as butter and run just about any shell you put in them. For chokes you've got tons of options. Contact Clark (allaboutshooting) for a wealth of knowledge on this topic. I'd used a puregold in mine and loved it but ended up selling the choke when I switched to a different gun for birds. You may find that one of the factory chokes is more than suitable for what you're wanting to do. As for loads, there's a plethora of factory fodder. Federal heavyweights are awesome and the Hevi shot stuff is fine too. If looking for lead loads the Winchester Long Beards are a tight patterning load if that's what you want. I'd advise an optic of some sort considering your visual anomaly. Good luck man and welcome.