turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Short or long box?

Started by 34NY, May 09, 2014, 05:50:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

34NY

Hey guys, I'm new to the sport and looking at buying a spring creek box call.  Is there any difference between a short and long box?

DirtNap647

short fits better in the vest

sixbird

You're on the right track with Spring Creek. Mike is a great call maker and a great guy. If you ask, he'll spend time educating you about long vs. short. The long box will give greater range of sound and carry farther. The short box will also sound great but will have slightly less range of sound. It will, like the previous poster said, fit in your vest better (not high on my priority list). Give Mikes' sassafras over butternut long box a try. You'd be hard pressed to find a sweeter sounding call than that in my opinion. :gobble:

Ozark Ridge Runner

I like the long boxes but they are a bit more of a challenge to carry.

Marc

I am trying to get educated on this myself...

Long Box verses short box verses single sided box calls?

So:
Long boxes have more range in sound and a louder call?
Short box  has two sides for versatility and easier to carry in the vest?
Single sided box has a bit higher pitch and some say better cutts and purrs with the finger groves?

It seems to me that among most turkey hunters that the short or standard box is the most popular, with the single sided box taking second, and the long box being the least popular?

I hunt Rio's, and have noticed that the hens tend to be higher pitched than most standard factory calls...  I tend to favor higher pitched calls with lots of rasp.  My inexpensive Lynch call sounds horrible to me as a high pitched overly raspy/squeaky call, but I am constantly amazed at how it is the call that gets a response when nothing else does.