OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Dominate Boss harvested, question  (Read 2804 times)

Offline tracker#1

• 2024 SITE SUPPORTER
  • The Boss Gobbler
  • Big game tracker with dogs, Oathkeeper, NRA Endowm
Dominate Boss harvested, question
« on: May 10, 2021, 09:18:46 AM »
I've been hunting this bird for two years and blessed to have harvested him a couple of days ago. I missed him last year and came very close to taking him 3 more times and left the woods talking to myself. My question is, "how does taking the dominant bird out affect the rest of the flock?" In the flock left, there are 4 hens, 8 jakes, 3 2-year-old long beards... I believe he was a 3 to 4-year-old bird, 1- 1/4 spurs... just curious

Offline AndyN

Re: Dominate Boss harvested, question
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2021, 10:04:43 AM »
Without a doubt all of those turkeys will die. There's only 11 other male turkeys to breed those 4 hens that should already be bred.

Offline Tail Feathers

• Limbhanger
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2021, 10:15:03 AM »
Those birds will sort out the pecking order pretty fast and a new "top Tom" will take the crown.  But in the meantime, there may be some real good hunting  as that opens up more gobbling and good hunting as they get to seek out hens to breed without fear of the "old boss" whipping their butt. 
Love to hunt the King of Spring!

Offline Spitten and drummen

• Long Spur Gobbler
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2021, 04:10:14 PM »
Be one in charge the next day.
“ RANGERS LEAD THE WAY”
“QUEEN OF BATTLE FOLLOW ME “ ~ INFANTRY
“DEATH FROM ABOVE “ ~ AIRBORNE

Offline KentuckyHeadhunter

• Double Beard
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2021, 04:17:47 PM »
There's a reason they kick his dead butt after you shoot him.
Loyal Member of the Tenth Legion

Offline Turkeytider