turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Late season Birds??

Started by jhoward11, May 03, 2021, 11:02:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jhoward11

Let's hear some expert advice for late season birds. I only have a few days left in the season. Decoys/set-ups/calls. Can't wait to get educated!

CALLM2U

Best advice I can give is to find one that's in the right mood.  I have made the mistake in the past (and did it again last Saturday) of spending hours with a bird that was never going to commit. 

By this time they're pressured, in a different mindset from a month ago and have different needs.  Gotta find one that will play along. 

jwright8

I'm by no means an expert, but in the late season decoys stay at the house for me. Birds have seen them on public lands, and in my neck of the woods they are in range by the time they can see them anyway. With full foliage on, you can be fooled by how far away they sound. You may think they are 500 yards but really may only be 200 and you will bust them. As far as tactics go I personally treat it no different myself. Seems to me in late season they either have zero interest or are super quick to come in as they have had no hens for days and are very anxious.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

WV Flopper

Hunt all day and pay attention all day. This is not a time to deer hunt, this is the time to cover as much ground as you can to find a turkey to play the game. When you find him, be ready! No time to be getting ready, you should have already done that.

Late season turkeys can be some of the most aggressive, feel them out when you find one, don't be sheepish.

When WV moved our season up one week and took the last week away, I complained. I like the later part, less hunters, more foliage, usually more stable weather.

TRG3