turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Taking the safety off...spook a turkey?

Started by Treerooster, May 01, 2024, 11:37:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Treerooster

Ok I am going to start off with this gets under my skin a bit.

In videos you will see the hunter all ready to shoot with hands in shooting position and the turkey is coming in. They do a cut-away and the hunter repositions his/her hand so as to silently move the safety so it doesn't make a "click". Even read in books that describe the safety click spooking a wary gobbler. One of Bobby Dale's books has such a scenario. He even states the turkey spooked instantly and no shot was possible.

I have over 30 years experience hunting turkeys, certainly not the most but a fair amount, and have never had a turkey react to the the click or a safety. Even with hens extremely close to me. Sometimes I have taken the safety off a little ahead of time when I believed the shot was imminent, but also many times just before the shot.

That hand movement, moving it down to silently get the safety off, seems would spook a turkey way more than any click. Don't know because I have never done it.

Any of you ever have the click of a safety spook a bird. And if so did it ruin the shot.

aclawrence

I always click my safety off before hand.  If I feels he's definitely coming in.  This is obviously more dangerous and you have to make sure you go back to safe if you don't shoot.  I think I subconsciously always check my safety throughout the hunt.  Whenever I'm getting up to move and so forth.  I haven't clicked off right in front of a bird that I can remember.  I would think the movement could get you in trouble but hopefully the birds already in big trouble at that point. 

Ihuntoldschool

I would never take that chance.  Anything unnatural could spook a bird in close like that.

Depends on turkeys too.