turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

hunting birds after spooking them in strut zones

Started by birdman561, March 20, 2015, 08:24:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

birdman561

This is my first time postin here long time observer. So here's how it all unfolded I roosted two birds last night went back in the am not one gobble all I heard was the sweet sound of flapping wings at 7:45. But with my luck he flew down 100 yards away and met up with sone lady friends, and cointued to taunt me for the remainin of the day. So I tried to cut him off but, to no avail I was busted by a hen then they scattered. Now my question is will his strut zone change after being spooked only one hen saw me and alerted the others

Dr Juice

Who knows? But I would try to roost them again in the same spot. Good luck.

Dtrkyman

Bumped a longbeard a few years back strutting in a field corner, had nothing going the next day late morning so I snuck into that corner through the timber and killed that gobbler at the same time I spooked him the day before!   

TauntoHawk

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="l4hWuQU"><a href="//imgur.com/l4hWuQU"></a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

born2hunt

My plan would be go to where you bumped them or at least between there and the roost tree. If they went that way then they just might again. If turkeys avoided every area they got spooked by something they would never leave the limb.
Genesis 1:26
   Then God said, "Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals,[a] and over all the creatures that move along the ground."

Matt.Wilson