turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

pot calls?

Started by bassmaster, January 17, 2013, 09:19:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bassmaster

Hi I'm new to turkey hunting and getting my equipment around for spring. I'm looking at pot calls now and will be buying a slate call. My question is, been looking at a Holloran or Kaiser, since I found this web site I've seen quite a few good looking calls for half the coin. What would you recommend,type of wood, striker, private custom, or which company. PS I'm a little picky on looks and don't want a box store brand.

Thanks for your input. :funnyturkey:

Clif Owen

My advice is to look through the classifieds and get an idea of what you like. Talk to one or 2 of the makers nd ask their opinion. They know more about how THEIR calls sound with each type of material. Also will tell you if they don't think a combination would work too. I've only dealt with a couple of these guys but would gladly recommend them to anyone.

VanHelden Game Calls

Yup just start flipping the pages here.  Eventually you will find a style that you like, and then just make a post inquiring about the maker and you will have all the information you could want.  Then talk to the maker and listen to the sound, and make sure they stand behind there call (I think all here would). 

I think you will not have any problems, except having enough $ :)

Moore