Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

To use decoys or not to use decoys?

Started by birdman561, April 02, 2015, 06:22:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

birdman561

I am just curious as to how many of have had experiences where decoys have hurt you more then helped you, I only hunt public land and can't ever find the confidence to put out a jake decoy in fear of scaring a subordinate bird away from me. whats your first hand experience?

zophy

I'm new to turkey hunting but so far I have to say decoying hurt me. I thought it was because of my cheap decoys. I decided to upgrade and purchase Avian-X decoys that are very realistic and when the turkeys saw my decoys they ran away as if they saw a ghost. Going to try without this weekend.

Cutt

I'd rather have a bird hunt me than see a decoy. As they say "A decoy can make or break your hunt" So why even take a chance?, as they aren't needed when gun hunting anyways.

Bowguy

Good decoys are much better than bad ones. I've hunted with DSD for a year now with zero problems but I don't hunt with em all the time. Mainly roost hunts w kids. I believe with a good set up you won't need decoys. Also believe way more birds are killed without em than with em

Marc

Decoys have hurt me far more than they have helped...

There are times when I think they can be helpful, such as bow-hunting, or hunting a large open area where the birds expect to see who is calling at them...

But, I have had birds hang up on my single hen decoy, and I have had birds run away from my jake...  I have been busted trying to set up a decoy, and one time last year, I left the decoy lying on the road, and went around the the bend to call in the bird...  He went up and over me, and when he saw that decoy lying on the road, he took off (as in airborne).

But, I have had birds coming in, that saw my decoys and then ran in...