OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Calling Question

Started by skridge, March 31, 2015, 06:27:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

skridge

Im new to turkey hunting and was wondering when you first get into the woods and sit down after day light. How often will you call and what sequences do you use.

falltoms

Let him make the first call, then answer him with a soft cluck or tree yelp, assuming he is still on the roost. Its best not to call to much to him in the tree. When he flies down its almost always better to start out calling soft and subtle. You can pick up the tempo later if he is hot

Marc

Kind of a loaded question for sure...

The birds are most vocal while on the roost just before they leave...  So assuming you have set up on a bird that is gobbling, as stated above, I might give a couple soft tree yelps, and wait for them to hit the ground before doing a couple more louder yelps and cutts.  Once he responds, I do minimal calling, and no calling at all if it is obvious he is getting closer.

If I am contending with vocal hens, I tend to address the hens...  I cut them off with whatever sequence they are doing...  If she is yelping, I cut her off with a yelp...  If she is cutting, I cut her off again.  Often, this will bring an angry hen into your spread, with an excited tom in tow...
Did I do that?

Fly fishermen are born honest, but they get over it.

skridge

Thanks for the info but what if you havent been able to find any birds on roost and have sat down without hearing any birds? How would you start calling?

Bowguy

Bowguy

Run n gun brother. Get high, walk a ridge, use locator calls and try n talk one in. It's best if he's calling more than you so resist the urge to hear him gobble.,a normal  beginner mistake but try n remember that.