News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Favorite Slate Strikers?

Started by Turkeytider, June 03, 2020, 11:04:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Turkeytider

Quote from: Greg Massey on June 03, 2020, 07:22:29 PM
Clay Townsend persimmon snakewood or Fowler Osage top snakewood ...

I have a Fowler osage/snakewood. An absolutely GREAT striker from one of the greats. I bought two of them, the other going to my friend and hunting buddy of over 50 years.

paboxcall

Jeff's heavy cedar or black walnut yelp and purr nicely on slate.
"A quality paddle caller will most run itself.  It just needs someone to carry it around the woods." Yoder409
"Sit down wrong, and you're beat." Jim Spencer
Don't go this year where youtubers went last year.
"It is a fallacy...that turkeys can see through rocks. Only Superman can do that. Instead turkeys see around them."Jim Spencer

Sir-diealot

I am not an expert but somebody here mentioned black locust a few times in threads like this in the past so I went out and got one and I am glad I did. I also like persimmon and hickory.
Strength does not come from winning. Your struggles develop your strengths. When you go through hardships and decide not to surrender, that is strength. Arnold Schwarzenegger

John Koenig:
"It's better to live as your own man, than as a fool in someone else's dream."

Turkeytider

Quote from: Sir-diealot on June 03, 2020, 11:32:35 PM
I am not an expert but somebody here mentioned black locust a few times in threads like this in the past so I went out and got one and I am glad I did. I also like persimmon and hickory.

I have a Halloran hickory and a Stuckey persimmon that I`m looking forward to trying. From the very soft to the hardest, I`ve got various representatives to try on my new red slate/redheart Sinclair pot. I really appreciate all the input. It`s helped me to select out those that I`ll try.

Tom007