OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Hooks calls??

Started by Chris Downs, May 15, 2011, 11:56:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chris Downs

Looking to try something new for next year.  I've been hearing alot of good stuff from Hooks, but wondered how their friction calls compared to the Woodhaven line.  I've got no experience with Hooks friction, but have used Woodhaven alot.  I currently have a legend slate and a cherry crystal.  How do the Hooks friction calls compare...please no bashing.  Just looking for honest opinions. 

Also, any input on the Hooks mouth calls would be great.  I've been running pretty much all Woodhaven for sometime now.  Same deal as before, please no bashing of either line...just honest opinions.

Thanks guys.

TRKYHTR

Hooks makes some of the best mouth calls on the market. I've also heard a few of their pot calls and they sound great as well. You wont go wrong with any of the Hooks calls.

TRKYHTR
RIP Marvin Robbins

[img]http://i261.photobuck

Chris Downs

Thanks for the info.  Anybody know where I can find some soundfiles or video clips of their calls??

merocustomcalls

drenalinld

Both brands have enough different choices that anyone should be able to find one they like. IMO the general differences are the tape material and latex reeds. The tape on the Woodhaven calls is thicker and stiffer and can require a little "break in" period. The reeds are typically a little thicker with a little more tension which also may require a little "break in". The Woodhavens would have a better chance of surviving to another season if that's important to you. The Hooks are usually easier to blow and require little or no "break in". Both are high quality calls, but have a totally different feel in your mouth.

ncturkey