turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Best longbox

Started by blackforesthp, January 17, 2019, 04:39:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

blackforesthp

Who do you feel makes the best long box currently?  Best wood combinations?  Let the games begin.

Bowguy

It depends what you mean by best. Best sounding to our ear, best looking or best meat call. One of the longboxes I have from McKamey is cedar/butternut. I bought it secondhand and I have a few others I really like better soundwise. Bloodwood/mineral poplar is my fav there but that cedar box I cared the least about so it came w me relatively often. That thing is deadly on turkeys, great meat call. SS makes some real good ones too. I've got a redheart/poplar that sounds awesome.

blackforesthp

I was just starting a conversation.

I have a SS Ipe over black Limba that produces some killer high pitched kee kees.  Just wondering what everyone else thinks sounds the best.

sixbird

Pretty hard to beat Mike Lapp or Ed Terefenko...Ernie Fetters makes a good one for a reasonable price. Couldn't go wrong with a Marlin Watkins either...

Happy hooker

I don't have a ton of experience with long boxes but I've cycled through quite a few last two years
It's hard to beat a Steve Mann cedar over anything,,I made sure to get two cedar over butternut s
And Dan Wittenberg is a true instrument builder  way,way,way,under used.

vt35mag

I played a pile of bloodwood over mineral poplar and bloodwood over butternut long boxes Jeff McKamey had at turkey trot. The mineral poplar is a great call, but I went home with a butternut.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

wvlimbhanger

I've got a few from Preacherman that are tough to crowd.....but my best one is a snakewood butternut from Marlin Watkins.   

vaplowboy

Steve Mann makes a good one. I have several of his including Do-dats.

TauntoHawk