turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Question for NM

Started by LI Outdoorsman, May 14, 2018, 06:15:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LI Outdoorsman

Question for NM hunters..Hunted the Lincoln NF this year with a friend.( I'm a non resident)...we got in the day before opening day did some scouting and located some birds.. weather was extremely dry...cool at night hot middle day..birds gobbled some on the roost but completely clammed up after flydown... we hunted 5 days...never did hear a bird gobble on the ground was very hard to track them... opening day around midday we cruised the roads and spotted a nice gobbler just strolling by himself on a ridge I got in front of him did some calling and got him to gobble but not really hot just answering me and trying to see where I was...I got him to come close but never could get him in the clear for a clean shot ended up letting him walk..never got another chance in 4 days....we also did afternoon noon sits by roost sites but never did end up on the X...my question to the regular hunters of this area is did the season this year seem to go off early or was it not happening till the later part ?..is it common for the birds on this public land to be so quiet? a biologist told us the birds were already done mating by opening day because of the weather..I want to come again next year and if possible could use some input..I also know that hunter pressure moved the birds and off their regular route..we mainly hunted weekdays to limit the weekend brigade..
This is my second time Hunting the Lincoln so now this has become a quest to tag a gobbler there!
any info would be greatly appreciated!
Rob

Rapscallion Vermilion