turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Mossberg Pure Gold

Started by Fastcat, April 20, 2011, 02:47:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fastcat

I am new to the Mossberg 835 game and my pure gold is on the way.  My plan is to run hevi-13 3.5 inch 6's or 7's through this gun.  However currently there is an overabundance of lead turkey shells in my ammo cabinet from guns and seasons past.  So my question is has anyone run lead through this gun and choke?

stinkpickle

I have not tried that combo, but I'm curious...so shoot 'em up and show us.   :D

goblr77

Quote from: stinkpickle on April 20, 2011, 09:52:34 PM
I have not tried that combo, but I'm curious...so shoot 'em up and show us.   :D

Yeah, I would like to know as well.

devin4484

My kicks .670 throws a better patten with lead than my pure gold.  I tested 3.5 2oz win hv no. 5.  The kicks sheds the wad at about 15-17 yards, and the pure gold was losing it about 20-25 yards dont know if this had anything to do with it.  Never shot a hevi load through either of them though.

Fastcat

One of the main reasons I'm curious about this is the fact that I have been completely out of the turkey hunting game for the last 3 years.  In that time #7 hevi shot has some how come out of the wood work and taken the woods by storm.  The patterns that it is producing are incredible!  However when I was hunting hard all of us serious turkey hunters were still using 3.5 inch Winchester HV #5's mated to rhino or kicks chokes.  In that time I saw some great shots take down birds  both near and far with the Winchesters. Which brings me to my question.  Energy is mass*velocity squared.  HV lead is moving at 1300 fps and hevi is traveling at 1090.  I understand that hevi shot is more dense therefore retains velocity better.  But with lead having that much of a head start is there really that much of a difference?  Other than pattern density?

stinkpickle