OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Ipe

Started by Mag10, April 15, 2011, 12:35:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mag10

Has anyone tryed Ipe ( Ironwood ??) for pot calls or strikers? It is very hard!

TurkeyPotpie

Ive seen a few Ironwood strikers and couple pots. Im actually going to turn one for myself when i finish tooling  up. Im a newbie so it should be interesting

culpeper

I have used Ipe for lids on box calls and it works great, haven't tried it for the box though---could be a bit too hard to get the right friction characteristics.  Now the Ipe I have is from the Coney Island board walk, it's almost chocolate colored, evry single board and the boards are 3.5" thick and about 12-13" wide...all the ironwood I ever saw is much smaller and light in color--are you sure it's Ipe?

Mag10

Quote from: culpeper on April 15, 2011, 08:21:44 PM
I have used Ipe for lids on box calls and it works great, haven't tried it for the box though---could be a bit too hard to get the right friction characteristics.  Now the Ipe I have is from the Coney Island board walk, it's almost chocolate colored, evry single board and the boards are 3.5" thick and about 12-13" wide...all the ironwood I ever saw is much smaller and light in color--are you sure it's Ipe?

Yes It's Ipe,  Sometimes called Brazilian Ironwood,  used on high end decks for decking.  Its dark chocolate brown and weighs about 4 times as much as treated pine.  It's from south America I think.

culpeper

Yep, that's the stuff.

Gobblerstopper

Been my favorite on copper for several years and now is one of my favorite on ceramic also.  Always called it Ironwood.

flydowntn

I also thought it was Brazillan Walnut. My wood source guy sells Ipe and the walnut the same wood. Kingwood is a differ color I thought.