turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Beginner with some questions

Started by YoungJake, April 09, 2011, 11:08:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

YoungJake

Hey everyone. I'm fairly new to turkey hunting, and I have a few questions about the day- of setup.

1. Decoys
When i'm in the field, how far out should i set my decoy?
Does a hen, Jake, or big gobbler decoy work better, or does a combination work the best?
when you are walking to your spot, how do you carry in your decoys?

2. Calls
What is the best method of purring with a box call?
What do you do when the turkeys get close in when you have a box call? Move on to a mouth call?
Can you give me general tips on using a box call?

3. Picking a spot
What credentials does a spot have to have to meet your specifications? What locater calls do you use to figure out a good spot?

I would also like any tips you think a beginner should know. Thanks for the help!
:boon:

paboxcall

Decoys:  I'm not the right guy to answer, I don't hunt fields, just wooded mountains.  I gave up carrying a decoy years ago and try to us the lay of the land to my advantage.

Purring on a box call.  Here is a decent tutorial from Midwest Turkey Supply.  It should get you going in the right direction, and you can practice and improve from there.

http://www.midwestturkeycall.com/doubleside.asp

I always carry at least two boxes, do most of my locating with a box.  If a gobbler commits and is working his way in, the box gets put down and we go to the mouth call to minimize hand movement.

Picking a spot.  Patterning the birds should dictate a good set up -- how they enter or leave the fields as you watch from a distance so as not to disturb them before the season.  Look for areas that show indications of strutting, like wing dragging, or areas where a lot of scratching tends to happen.