Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Picking the right striker for the right pot?

Started by upnorth, April 27, 2016, 06:34:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bhhad25

Where can I go to order Matt McLains strikers?

SteelerFan

Quote from: Bhhad25 on March 20, 2017, 05:14:50 PM
Where can I go to order Matt McLains strikers?

3rd post down in this thread is from Matt. Send him a PM

Ol Yelper

You can PM Matt on here. He's a good guy and will help you out.

upnorth

Does anybody use a hollow tube carbon striker?

kjnengr

I'm no pro, but I have found several strikers that work with my crystal calls. My favorite is diamondwood but I also like purpleheart and yellowheart.

beakbuster10

Quote from: upnorth on March 21, 2017, 05:49:26 PM
Does anybody use a hollow tube carbon striker?
I've got a Yingling carbon striker that runs on everything. My favorite all around striker is probably a Fred Cox tulipwood. It runs on everything. So does a good dymondwood and snakewood.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Matt / PA

Quote from: beakbuster10 on March 21, 2017, 09:25:21 PM

I've got a Yingling carbon striker that runs on everything. My favorite all around striker is probably a Fred Cox tulipwood. It runs on everything. So does a good dymondwood and snakewood.

THAT!  :icon_thumright:  I could run that one on one of my wife's cast iron frying pans and call a turkey in........OK it would be dumb one but you get the point  ;D
Reminding me to get a couple more for when I finally lose the one I have!

Triple B

Quote from: mmclain on April 27, 2016, 07:05:49 PM
For a wood striker on glass  bubinga is excellent

Black locust is a great low cost wood plays on anything

Dymondwood is a favorite for many but the resin will load up in the glass....this is only a problem if you are stage calling and it slips making an odd squeak.