OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Favorite striker for slate?

Started by Gutsdozer, March 14, 2016, 06:55:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gutsdozer

Hello all,

Can I get some suggestions for wood types on strikers on slate? I would like to get easier to produce clucks mainly. I have tried a few and zebrawood is one that I kind of like. I also like the mushroom end types. Seems like I get a more realistic sound out of the harder woods. I am a novice and picked up a Lonnie Sneed  Hot Hen last year but kind of struggle with the striker he provides.

Any suggestions and info is appreciated!

eorlando

I don't use stickers but rather strikers...haha. I like dymondwood, snakewood,  and yellow heart. I just got an African blackwood from bill lyman that is quickly moving its way up to the top.

Wildfowler

My favorite is black locust for slate

Gutsdozer

Quote from: eorlando on March 14, 2016, 06:58:23 PM
I don't use stickers but rather strikers...haha. I like dymondwood, snakewood,  and yellow heart. I just got an African blackwood from bill lyman that is quickly moving its way up to the top.

Ugh I can't believe I wrote stickers each time. Comes from having a three year old that loves stickers I think. That's my excuse and I'm sticking to it!

paboxcall

'Black walnut and slate go together likes peas and carrots.'

Forrest Gump
"A quality paddle caller will most run itself.  It just needs someone to carry it around the woods." Yoder409
"Sit down wrong, and you're beat." Jim Spencer
Don't go this year where youtubers went last year.
"It is a fallacy...that turkeys can see through rocks. Only Superman can do that. Instead turkeys see around them."Jim Spencer

Buzzkiller

Black Locust    Yellowheart   
and like eorlando I really like my African Blackwood

jed clampett