turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Pot call for beginner?

Started by Gen273, August 08, 2015, 11:26:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gen273

I am new to turkey hunting having started last year. I'm very much addicted and can't wait for season to start back up. Anyway, I have a decent box call and scratch box. I would like a pot call. I bought a primos glass at a big box store and just can't get it to sound very good. Should I go with a slate call instead of a glass? I don't see much mention of slate on here. Does glass take more expertise to run? I don't see many recommendations for slates. I want a Crystal Misstress but am afraid I won't be able to run it. Thanks for your help.

mossyhorn2

there are many good callmakers on here, but you might want to start by watching a youtube on how to use a friction call. Then get a crystal mistress and I think you will be very happy with your selection. Just don't forget Sneed, Yingling, Roberts, Schafer, Anderson, and many more.

Rick Howard

I would suggest trying a slate surface.  Slate is easier for most folks, not everyone.  I think in general slate is easier to learn because it is less slick than glass.  Either way, having both gives you options and I would not hesitate to purchase a slate surfaced call. 

I would highly suggest a Hot Hen from Mr. Sneed.  My calls are all packed away because we are in the middle of moving or I would have his telephone number for you.  However, I am certain you can find Mr. Sneeds (Lonnie) contact info listed on the OG forum dozens of times :)

Gen273

Thanks for your replies, is the hot hen a slate? I would really like a slate and a glass.

Never mind , further research answered my own question.

Bowguy

There's lots of pots that're easy to run. Crystal mistress is one. Many callmakers have good ones., if you're getting one pot I'd recommend glass or Crystal. Slate is good but very bad in even humid weather.

Triple B