turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

How to hunt turkeys without becoming deaf

Started by bszweda, April 12, 2015, 04:39:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bszweda

I am fairly new to turkey hunting and love it, but pulling the trigger hurts like no other. Think of the scene from saving private Ryan when the tiger tank shoots the building next to Tom Hanks and knocks him over. Can anyone share their setup/system they use to protect their hearing when shooting? I have a Mossberg 535 turkey thug with the ported choke and it seriously hurts my ears whenever I shoot. I've only taken two unprotected shots and I've had enough. Anyone recommend what to do? I am looking into electronic muffs, but I am not sure how well those work and if I'll be able to hear what direction noises are coming from. I am also thinking about getting rid of the shotgun all together and getting a crossbow.

Thanks,
Brad

Ihuntoldschool

I use hearing protection when target shooting, the sound of the gun going off when I shoot a turkey is the last thing I am concerned about.   You might try an unported choke, a longer barrel, a smaller gauge, or a lighter payload shotshell if it bothers you.

Thundermtn

Ear protection headphones with stereo work very well. Turn them up and you can hear bugs in the leaves and still be able to pin point a distant gobble location with ease. When the gun goes off its shuts off so quick that it works the same a regular set of ear muffs.

Get an unported choke to reduce blast as well. If you really want to go overkill wear a set of 20+foam in ear and run a set of the ones I mentioned above as well and turn them up enough to over come the in ear foam to anormal level of in ear volume and a 12g barely makes a pop.

rickyb