OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Longbeard Question

Started by tonybforua, February 09, 2015, 09:54:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tonybforua

If you had the to choose between 3.5 #5 or #6 longbeard which would you go with and why?  I know the 6s pattern a lot better because of more available shot in shell. But what would be furthest you would shoot with the 6s? Don't plan on shooting over 40 just curious if the 6s will do the job. Im fairly new to turkey hunting just trying to decide on 5s or 6s. Ive got a Mossberg 835 with a Indian Creek choke in the mail. Thanks!

Spring Music

Quote from: tonybforua on February 09, 2015, 09:54:50 AM
If you had the to choose between 3.5 #5 or #6 longbeard which would you go with and why?  I know the 6s pattern a lot better because of more available shot in shell. But what would be furthest you would shoot with the 6s? Don't plan on shooting over 40 just curious if the 6s will do the job. Im fairly new to turkey hunting just trying to decide on 5s or 6s. Ive got a Mossberg 835 with a Indian Creek choke in the mail. Thanks!

The highlighted is arbitrary at best. Turkey hunting is not a "see how far you can kill'em" sport. But for me, I don't shoot past 40 no matter and the vast majority have come within 20-25 yds..Used 6's for years and have never had a problem.. Any good "copper-plated" load will kill turkeys at 25-35 yd ranges, maybe a bit more...Here again, for me, I would use the 6's. They will carry enough energy at these distances to get the job done....Good luck to you this season..

tonybforua