OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Choke for a cheap @$$ old timer

Started by vpsalin, May 16, 2014, 09:42:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vpsalin

I'm pretty new to hunting in general and my hunting partner is in his 70s, very experienced deer hunter. This was his first year turkey hunting my 2nd. He didn't understand why we need turkey chokes and turkey loads to kill turkeys. If it wasn't for my guidance, the would of went into the turkey woods with a modified choke and 7.5 shot lollllllllllllllllllllll. When I told him that was a bad idea he looked at me perplexed, priceless expression on his face like if he just discovered that turkey's had super-powers or something lollll.

I gave him some 3'' #5 shot shells with the modern wads which are supposed to do ok in a regular chokes. Well turns out he missed his shot on a albino/smokey-grey tom at 35-40 yards!  :OGturkeyhead:

needless to say he wants a fancy choke now but doesn't want to spend too much. Any suggestions in the 20-40$ range for a 26'' 870?

The 665 Undertaker and 665 Rem Factory S-Full come to mind, but which one is better. Any better options in the low end spectrum?

1966 870_WM / 20'' Deer RS / IC .665 / SHURSHOT / 1.75-5x32 Legend HD / LB_XR_3''_#5

Excalibur Micro335 RT / Nikon Bolt XR / Luminok Quills / CX Torrid SS 85GR w.Adders

Excalibur Grizzly305 MO / Deadzone / Luminok Quills / CX Torrid SS 85GR w.Adders

lowoctane

Remington's Ventilator will surprise you. :z-twocents:
I'm Old School...
GOD, GUTS AND GUNS
MADE AMERICA GREAT,
LET'S KEEP ALL THREE!
NRA Endowment
NAHC Life

Longshanks

Quote from: lowoctane on May 16, 2014, 10:34:38 PM

I paid 12.99 + shipping for my ventilator and it will flat shoot winchester lead 6's.

RAY