turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Whats your thoughts on a BPS?

Started by TheSportsman, February 08, 2011, 06:36:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gobbler74

"Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail"

BIG10

The biggest thing you need to watch for is your personal fit and feel. I have been shooting slugs at deer since the 1970's and have owned just about anything that would fire a 12 ga slug. If the gun doesnt fit right a 20 ga can be brutal. make sure the length of pull feels good and your face lines up comfortably with the sight of choice. There is nothing like a shot to the cheek bone from a stock your have to smash your face down on to get lined up. Especially important to us with the bigger sized melons. Almost any 10 ga made lately is high quality and set up for turkey hunting. By the way Remington has discontinued the SP10 as of this year so if anyone wants a new one you better let the clutch out. I expect the used market to dry up and get expensive. I almost bought a BPS 10 but I am over 50 now and decided to get myself an SP10 since I have wanted one since 1989. Diapers took the forefront back then but now my wife hunts with me so I have been blessed. Yes I am full of hot air but only mildly annoying, If you read this far you have problems!

WildTigerTrout

I have a BPS Stalker/Matte finish "Turkey Special" I bought new in 2001. Came from the factory with a 24" barrel, Hi-Vis FO sights and Browning X-Full Invector Turkey choke.I replaced the choke with a Bansner .690. Shoots great patterns with the "Old" Fed. Prem. 2 1/4 Oz. #6. I have killed several gobblers with it. None required a second shot. The one disadvantage to the gun is the WEIGHT. It is heavy. I bought a WIDE neopreme sling for it and that helps spread the weight out. One of my friends has the same gun and he has named his "The Tominator"