OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Is it possible ?

Started by Canteathorns, April 18, 2014, 08:20:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Canteathorns

Setting up a gun for my wife . She is recoil sensitive and gets blood clots so she don't want to be kicked to bad . I have an extra 870 wingmaster  set up with a super cell recoil pad , thinking about hi brass squirrel loads . So is it possible to get 40 yard performance from a set up like this ? Do you all have any suggestions  shells , chokes , etc ?

duckkillerclyde

Why not buy an auto loader if you're that worried about blood clots?

Why would you have her shoot one of the worst shotguns as far as recoil goes?   I don't think it gets anymore brutal than a pump.

Canteathorns

I figured a high brass squirrel load would kick at least 50 percent less than a turkey load .  An auto loader isn't in the budget . Making use of what I have . Maybe a 1 ounce load with hard shot at close range  ?

duckkillerclyde

I don't even know what a squirrel load is.

Target loads have low recoil.

Hold the gun correctly and it really shouldn't be an issue...????

A good used auto loader is $600.  Save your pennies.   

Canteathorns

Squirrel load - any hi brass 1.25 ounce of 4 5 6 .  Old timers killed plenty with them . I thought they mite work . Your right a target load may be just the ticket .

Gooserbat

Lots of turkeys were killed with hi-brass 1 1/4 loads but to make it into a solid 40 yard gun I think you're going to need something a little different.  You might consider some of the Federal HW loads in 2 3/4.  the load # is PHT154F.  Just be sure to us an unported, non wad striping choke.
NWTF Booth 1623