turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

shock gobble

Started by Lee Lobbestael, April 09, 2014, 11:03:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lee Lobbestael

Hey guys somewhat of a Newbie here to turkey hunting.  Turkey season starts here in a week and a half but I am not hearing a lot of gobbling at first light. I know there are plenty of gobblers around but they are not making much noise. Could it be that its still a little early? It just started to feel like spring here in Michigan within the last couple weeks. Is it a good idea to try to get turkeys on the roost to shock gobble to locate them when they aren't making much noise? If so what is the best way to do this?

GobbleNut

I personally swear by using a locator call to find gobblers early in the morning and, in some places, right at dark in the evening.  Any loud, abrupt sound will often get them to gobble.  Shock gobbling is an involuntary response by gobblers to sudden loud sounds.  That is why if there are several gobblers together in a group and one of them starts to gobble, usually all of them will at just about the same time.  When hunting unfamiliar areas, it is a trick that every turkey hunter should learn to use.  The key to a good locator call is that it has to be LOUD, regardless of what type of sound you make.

appalachianstruttstopper

Quote from: Lee Lobbestael on April 09, 2014, 11:03:40 PMIs it a good idea to try to get turkeys on the roost to shock gobble to locate them when they aren't making much noise?

Are you the only person hunting these birds? I use locaters alot when I'm hunting private ground that I have sole permission to be on, but if other hunters are involved and I know where they like to roost, I will leave the locater in my pocket. Every gobble he makes before I can kill him is every gobble that another hunter can use to close his distance on him.