OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Hunting turkeys in the hills ?

Started by Basin_hunter, March 09, 2011, 09:01:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Basin_hunter

I am a newbie as far as hunting turkeys in the hills. I have always hunted them in flat woods / swamps. I went out and did some scouting yesterday morning in a new area and was able to locate 3 gobbling birds. 2 out of the 3 I pretty much pegged their locations. They were roosted at the base of a hill near a creek. Will turkeys normally walk up hill, Or do they typically walk down hill, when flying down from the roost ? The rain had me heading back to the truck before I could determine which way they flew down. I am trying to figure out an approach for these birds and was looking for some tips from the experienced hill hunters here. Any info or tips will be much appreciated.

Thanks,

:gobble:
In fall we rut, in spring we strut

archery1

my buddy has been hunting turkey for years. he swears turkey will come either up or down hill. far away.  fast or slow. just at their own pace. they have a small brain,,, best eyesight.. if they could smell.......well we would probably never  kill one....
Take a kid hunting

hobbes

There is one thing that dictates which way a turkey walks, up or down hill, after flydown in the spring..................where he wants to set up shop to find hens.  If they are already with him, he'll head whichever direction they do.  You can set up uphill one morning and he'll decide to go downhill.  Move dowhill and he'll go uphill.  That is just turkey hunting.  Its the days you meet in the middle that keep you  trying.