OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Need help on box calls!

Started by bigthunderchicken, April 14, 2013, 06:20:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cja

Bob Harwell makes a good sounding call as well

longbow59

Try a Dale Rohm box, never mentioned much but they are a great hunting box.

BIGBOB

I think it would be hard to do better than a box call from Albert Paul. I have several and his is the one i always carry. Great man to deal with.

slwayne

Quote from: TauntoHawk on April 15, 2013, 11:30:52 AM
Quote from: eddie234 on April 15, 2013, 10:49:21 AM
I got a ss custom box last year, butternut box with cherry lid. Its a great box for $55.00.

Sent from my ZTE-Z990G using Tapatalk 2

Eddie, thats the combo I was thinking of getting next from him as well as yellowheart over Mahogany. I have a Kwila/black Limba that I recieved about two weeks ago and can't set down

That Kwila/Black Limba is a killer combo for sure.  I ordered one from Al and Josh after last season ended and absolutely love it.  Called 3 to the gun with it this year including my first Michigan public land bird the last week of our season.  Great call at a real affordable price.

strutnrut

There are a couple of thing to think about when shopping for a box call.
What sound am I looking for?
What type of call do I want? Who all builds this type of call.
What type of wood combo? The callmaker can help you with this one.
What is my budget?

Beleive me a little research now will pay off. Not all good box calls are expensive and not all expensive call are good.

greencop01

:OGturkeyhead:     You can't do better than a Marlin Watkins 'fiddle box' or a fiddle paddle, he's one of the best, just tell him what sound you want or what season you hunt, spring or fall, he's a best in show winner and Neil Cost Award winner at the past couple of NTWF Conventions.