OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

WHEN TO USE GOBBLE CALL

Started by BIGBOB, March 29, 2013, 01:19:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BIGBOB

Have been given a couple of gobble call that sound good.I have been hunting for several years but never used a gobble call. Was wondering what would be the best scenario to try it.Am hunting on private land so don't have to worry about other hunters (I hope)THANKS

Gooserbat

I use a gobble call and they are like full strut decoys.  They can either work or run it off.  You just have to feel the bird out.  If it's an aggressive tom then it might be your ticket especially if your hunting in the woods where a strutter decoy wouldn't have the appeal it might have in the fields.
NWTF Booth 1623
One of my personal current interests is nest predators and how a majority of hunters, where legal bait to the extent of chumming coons.  However once they get the predators concentrated they don't control them.

VooDooMagic

Later in the morning in lieu of a crow call to trigger a gobbler to sound off while runnin' and gunnin', I only use it as a locator call...

eddie234

Remember hens come to gobbler calls. I use mine when nothing else is working. Ill gobble call to bring in the hens hoping they have a gobbler in toe. Last year i was battling a hen, shed yelp id yelp went on for a while then i started to gobble call and brought her right in. She didnt have a tom with her so i let her wonder off.

Sent from my ZTE-Z990G using Tapatalk 2

FL-Boss

+1 ... I carry one with me.. but only use it's as a last resort.. when I have nothing to lose.

taylorjones20