Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Who all taught themselves to turkey hunt?

Started by BlakeJ, March 10, 2013, 12:41:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kywoodsman

I am also a self taught turkey hunter. My parents never hunted when i was growing up. My dad had done a little bit of rabbit hunting when he was a kid but that was about it. I had a couple cousins who hunted quite a bit but because of there limited time off work to hunt they never had a chance to take me. I grew up on about 20 acres of good land and knew several people in the community that had more land that was willing to let me hunt. I started deer hunting when I was 13 and killed my first deer, a doe, that year. I started turkey hunting two years later but didn't have any luck until 3 years later when I was 18 I finally killed my first gobbler. Hunting, especially turkey hunting is an ever learning experience and I'll never know even half there is to learn but I'm always looking forward to trying.

surehuntsalot

I learned everything on my own,trial and error
it's not the harvest,it's the chase

birdyhunter

Can't say I'm 100% self taught but I did get in to it on my own and killed my first couple on my own. Learned a ton from some very good friends from NC, A father, son team.  You won't find better people and better turkeys hunters anywhere.

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2

jblackburn

My dad took me deer hunting as a kid, but he was not really into it.  Now, rabbitts and squirrels, dad is a master hunter.  We always had turkeys around the farm, so I taught myself how to call and killed my first gobbler when I was 14 and was hooked.

As fare as being self taught, I guess I did, but I still feel like I'm learning how to hunt them!
Gooserbat Games Calls Staff Member

www.gooserbatcalls.com