Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Who all taught themselves to turkey hunt?

Started by BlakeJ, March 10, 2013, 12:41:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

stinkpickle

More like, I've taught myself how NOT to turkey hunt.  ;)

Duke0002

Started hunting the birds at 50.  Hunted small game and waterfowl most of my life.  The turkey fever hit me and I haven't been the same since!  Self taught and thankful for the great people of turkey forums like OG.  Always learning and relearning.

Muzzy61

Count me as self taught. No one in my family hunted. At16 a buddy and his dad started taking me dog hunting (deer). I loved it, but at 20 decided to try still hunting. From there got into turkey. But  pretty much self taught. I've tried to learn something from everyone i hunt or fish with.
Print by Madison Cline, on Flickr

TRKYHTR

I started on my own. Where I live there were no turkey hunters that I knew about. Very few actually turkey hunted. I started in '83 and finally killed a turkey in '85. I finally heard of a guy who was a turkey hunter and I went and introduced myself to him. He was a great guy but had only killed fall turkeys. So I taught myself how to kill turkeys. I learned from my mistakes. I finally met a guy in 1990 that knew how to turkey hunt. I had probably killed 10 turkeys before we met. We were inseparable from that time on in the spring. Now I am passing the torch. Nothing wrong with learning the hard way, good and bad but you can learn alot quicker with a little help.

TRKYHTR
RIP Marvin Robbins

[img]http://i261.photobuck

RickC