Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Who all taught themselves to turkey hunt?

Started by BlakeJ, March 10, 2013, 12:41:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BlakeJ

No one in my family turkey hunted when I was growing up (we hunted pretty much everything else), so I've pretty much been self taught on gobblers. Just wondering who else taught themselves to turkey hunt?

land cruiser

Quote from: BlakeJ on March 10, 2013, 12:41:05 AM
No one in my family turkey hunted when I was growing up (we hunted pretty much everything else), so I've pretty much been self taught on gobblers. Just wondering who else taught themselves to turkey hunt?

No one in by family hunted, period. So I guess I am self taught as well.

redleg06

My dad always took me deer hunting but he never really got in to turkey hunting but he took me because he knew I enjoyed it. He had no idea how to do it but we still managed to get lucky a few times and kill a few when I started out.  Since I was really the one interested in it, I was the one learning to call and trying to really "learn" all the rest of the ways to hunt and he was just kind of there to drive me to and from the hunt and make sure I was safe.  I really appreciate that, looking back, because he dang sure wasnt getting up early because he liked it but really just there to support me with it.

Never really had any friends that were in to turkey hunting growing up either. I got a few of them in to the sport along the way and, over the years, have found one or two that I enjoy hunting with and that I'd say I learn stuff from.

8upbowhunter