OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Need help finding turkeys

Started by Stout33, April 18, 2012, 09:45:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Stout33

Hey guys, the season just opened today in Maryland and I got out there early. Unfortunately, the rain forced me in around 9. I'm having a very hard time finding turkeys in the woods. I hunt public land in western Maryland and it is about 3,000 acres and mountainous. I saw other hunters there this morning so I assume there are turkeys in the woods. However, I have been there to scout 4 times and I have not herd a yelp or a gobble ever. I could be looking in the wrong places because this is my first year hunting. Any tips or advice would be extremely appreciated; I am planning on getting back out there tomorrow morning. Please let me know if you have any suggestions!
"You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life." -Winston Churchill

mikejd