OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

How good (or bad) is this?

Started by nogoodreezen, March 27, 2012, 10:51:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nogoodreezen

I'm new to turkey hunting and I am not really sure what is considered good when it comes to patterning. This is the first gun I have ever set up. This is from a cleaned but not polished barrel. Shooting an 835, 20 " barrel, jellyhead choke, and 3.5" 2.25 ounce, hevi13 7's. I stepped it at 40 but lasered it later at 42. 168 in the 10 " circle. I have since moved my red dot for my poi.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk

nogoodreezen

Sorry about the sideways image. Uploaded from my phone. Not sure how to rotate.

Philippe

Swap chokes and polish that barrel, it should be shooting better with that load.

drenalinld

That is very low for that combo. I would suggest shooting on bigger paper. I don't think you are seeing the densest part of your pattern. That will certainly kill a turkey, but I would guess you have higher density off the small sheet of paper.

Jourdan_D

Get rid of the jellyhead, those choke are a joke.  Buy a kicks gobblin thunder .670.  Was shooting 300 with this combo in mine

Jourdan_D

Okay let me restate that.  In the 835 the jellyhead is a joke. :gobble: in a Lexington 870 it shoot a pretty mean pattern :funnyturkey:

rtsj

Quote from: Jourdan_D on March 27, 2012, 09:22:42 PM
Okay let me restate that.  In the 835 the jellyhead is a joke. :gobble: in a Lexington 870 it shoot a pretty mean pattern :funnyturkey:
I agree with the Jellyhead not performing well in the 835!  Where can I get a Lexington 870? :TooFunny: :TooFunny:

Roy

Jourdan_D

Ive got one I'll sell you, send money order to......

Stupid autospell

Browning 10

Quote from: Jourdan_D on March 27, 2012, 03:50:33 PM