OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Help a beginner pick his next pot call!

Started by DeadEye09, March 07, 2012, 01:39:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cannonball

David Halloran Twisted Sister or Crystal Mistress

chatterbox

Being a beginner, I would gravitate to a slate call for you. Joe Slaton(aka TRKYHNTR) owns motherlode calls makes a very nice slate over corion that is the bees knees! Great call, very easy to do clucks, cuts and purrs on, and she yelps with ease!
Lightsout also makes a great slate call, and shouldn't be overlooked.
Again, the only downside to slate is once wet, you're done. If I know it's going to be a rainy day, I will be in a blind anyway, so it doesn't really concern me too much.
Now, as you get more confident, I would go to glass or crystal over whatever soundboard the call maker suggests.
Good luck with your search, and good luck this spring!

Cut*N*Run

I'll throw my 2 cents in-

It's pretty tough to beat a double-sided aluminum over slate call for versatility. That's a call that will pretty much do everything and will be very easy to play.

When it's all said and done, you'll have a copper call, a nice slate, and a nice glass call and with good reason- each surface definitely gives a different sound.

Ceramic is out there too, but there's no need to run out and grab one when you already have that Yella Hammer. Maybe down the line if you just want something new.

DeadEye09

Thanks a lot guys. So, am I correct in saying that the Yella Hammer isn't really a slate, but actually a ceramic call??

I actually find my Power Crystal easier to play than the Yella Hammer. And the striker of the power crystal sounds better than the yella hammer striker.

Cut*N*Run

You are correct.