turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Drilling and Tapping a Remington 1187

Started by deerslayer357, February 03, 2012, 06:29:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

deerslayer357

Well, on another forum I am on someone asked a question about drilling and tapping a 1187.  I got mine tapped about 1 1/2 years ago and mounted a scope for turkey hunting.  So far I have had no problems whatsoever other than the base screws loosening (some loc-tite fixed that), but I see people talking about 1187's being to thin. 

Has anybody had an 1187 drilled and tapped that failed? 

Am I in danger of messing up my gun?

The thing that gets me is the gunsmith didn't say a thing about it.  Just drilled and tapped it and sent it home with me.....?

Any help would be appreciated!

old frank

I have no personal experience but I have heard of a dozen that have had it done and have heard of no failures.

Screw loosening is the only thing I heard of and some said they put an epoxy under the mount just to be doubly safe.

Some gunsmiths won't do it and others say it is fine.

I think especially with a FF or light Red Dot there will never be a problem, a big heavy scope might cause a problem but I don't know if it really wood.

I would keep an eye on it but not be overly concerned.

GOLD HUNTER

I have my old school 1187 @ the gunsmith as i type this now and he was a machinist and he said the old girl is good togo . just get you a good gunsmith to do it .

brian

VAlongbeard84