OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

I'm Really Confused...

Started by BusterMcThunderstick, January 30, 2012, 10:01:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BusterMcThunderstick

I am relatively new to turkey hunting and brand new to this site.  After a few days of looking on from the sidelines, I have become more confused about calls and calling.  I've always known about slate pot calls, box calls, and diaphragm calls, but this site has mentioned several things that I haven't heard of before and don't understand.

I want to get a new custom pot call but I see that you can get them in different kinds of wood, plastic and/or corian combinations.  It seems to me that the pot itself is only a container for the playing surface.  Am I wrong on this?  What benefit would one pot material have over another?

Also the playing surfaces can be slate, glass, or aluminum.  Does one sound better than the other?  Is one more weatherprooof than the other?  Is one higher maintenance than the others?

What on Earth is a trumpet?  Is it different than a striker? 

Is there a benefit to having different strikers made of different materials for certain calling situations?  Does one striker material resonate better than the others?

What in the world is a soundboard and what is its function in the call?  I always was under the impression that the playing material is encased in the pot, which is hollow or semihollow in nature, and that amplifies the sound being emitted..sort of like a drumstick being struck against an upside-down empty bucket.  How does a soundboard play into the equation?