News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Help me understand basic calling strategies

Started by frogfish, January 21, 2012, 11:35:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

frogfish

Hey guys

I'm new to turkey hunting and this spring will be my first time ever chasing gobblers, so hopefully yall can help me out here.

I picked up a slate call and a mouth call (Primos sonic dome), and have been practicing both of them. The slate call sounds pretty good, and I'm getting there with the mouth call.

So on the day of the hunt, i was wondering what calling strategy I should follow when trying to bring a gobbler into range. If i set up at dark o'clock, when should I start calling? Can I call before the gobblers fly down from their roost? From what I've gathered, most people seem to yelp and cut aggressively at dawn, and as the bird moves in (hopefully), purr and putt more softly?

Please help me out here! Thanks!

dirt road ninja

For what it's worth I don't call much if any while the birds in the tree. I like to start once they hit the ground. I'll start lightly and let the birds tell me what they want . 

drenalinld

Like ninja stated, I don't want to call while the bird is in the tree more than once just to let him know where I'm at. Many times if you call to them in the tree they will gobble and it can be fun but they may just stay in the tree and gobble waiting on that hen to show itself. The exception I make is when I hear hens with the gobbler or close to the gobbler, then I will call more to create some competition and/or strike a nerve with the hen and get the hen(s) to come to you and bring him in tow.

The hardest lesson to learn for me was how soft you should call which also happens to be more difficult for a beginning caller. What you watch on tv will work some, but you will kill more gobblers calling way less and more subtle. Just a series of three to five soft yelps with a few soft clucks and purrs periodically can be deadly.