OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

New to turkey hunting

Started by Opie, January 11, 2012, 08:00:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Opie

Hey I'm new to turkey hunting can y'all give me a list of the most important things I'll need?

guesswho

Turkeys to hunt, a gun/shell combo that you know the effective range of, camo, a call you can yelp and cluck on and patience. 
If I'm not back in five minutes, wait longer!
BodonkaDeke Prostaff
MoHo's Prostaff
Do unto others before others do unto you
Official Member Of The Unofficial Firedup Turkey
Calls Prostaff

dirt road ninja

Patience, humility, a high tolerance for rejection and determination.

Things not leave in the truck.

Shotgun and shells.
Diaphragms

Things I own but don't always bring.

Turkey vest
Pot calls
Crow calls
Owl call
Gobbler lounger
Decoys
Therma cell
Pop up blind
Rain suit

I usually carry a pocket full of mouth calls, something to sit on, face mask/gloves, crow call, small flashlight and a couple bottles of water.

sharxfan

I would say a choke that works well in your gun. If you do a search for you particular shogun you can find a lot of info and testing here.

BTW Welcome from a fellow newbie. The amount of information on here is mind boggling as well as the level of help you will get from fellow members.

mnbirdbuster