Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Sit and wait, or make something happen?

Started by chatterbox, December 03, 2011, 07:01:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

timbrhuntr

I am no expert but 2 years ago I blew out my shoulder and couldn't hardly lift my arm. I still wanted to hunt so I figured out if I sat with my gun on my knee and bird came the right way I could get a shot without having to lift the gun much. Well I found that once I got set up I didn't really feel much like trying to change spots so I sat alot longer than normal. I sat a the roost site in the morning and if nothing came I sat there until noon. I saw more birds that week than ever. Only problem was I was aiming off a little and couldn't get a shot at any of them. If I could have lifted my gun I could have filled my tag several times. Since then if I am in a good spot I try to sit a little longer even if the birds go silent. To stress this point last year I could hunt the morning before work but had to leave by 830 am. Twice I bumped nice toms that where silently coming in. Both had been very vocal on the roost and after flydown then went quite.I also shot my osceola last year because I waited him out. I sat in a good spot and had one tom answer twice at daybreak then go quite. At 850am I heard a bird scratching in the leaves and one location putt. Which I answered. The tom then slowly made his way out into the field and up to me. If I had left after flydown when all went quite I would not have shot him. But it has to be a good spot where I know birds are likely to show up. I also have to admit that same year I bought the gobbler lounger and it makes sitting longer almost bearable.

gob09

Quote from: timbrhuntr on December 07, 2011, 11:18:14 AM