OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Winchester Blindside Test..pic heavy

Started by fountain2, August 21, 2011, 09:51:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fountain2

im not exactly sure what load i shot in the xpert i tested..1 1/8 or 1 1/4..i will have to find that out though.  the black clouds are probably the patternening load for me right now, but im just a little worried bout the dern wad with its overall size..i know it works and squeezes out, but im sacred over time damage could occur.  they shoot well and kill well..no doubt.  i am still learning in the waterfowl world..i plan to "expand my horizons" more this year.  im sure it will all be a big learning process and i welcome it. 

looking at these loads have been real interesting as to see what i am shooting and what is to come in the market in the future.  the design ofthe blindside ammo, as well as the flitestopper shot, look as if it wil cause major trauma upon impact...the flitestopper more than blindside, but time will tell this season with lots of the new ammo hitting the waters.  i really wish they made a #3 or 4..the way the 2s did for me, a slightly smaller shot with more in this load would be good.

the fps is anotehr thing i am learnig about with waterfowl..300 fps seem to seperate most loads.  i saw several times while my buddy shot the hypersonic,fire coming from the bbl..telling me unburnt powder.  to him, that made them a super bad load that killed when others couldnt..wrong, but o well.  he claimed his lead went to pretty much nothing..but maybe i cant shoot good enough, cant tell, or both..but honestly i have never been able to tell with any loads from shooting doves, clays to ducks..just never able to see a fps difference.  whats yall intakee on the fps of the loads on the market?

drenalinld

Quote from: fountain2 on August 23, 2011, 06:50:46 AM