turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

What is it with crows?

Started by shaman, April 11, 2024, 05:31:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

shaman

It took me quite a few years to figure out that I was hearing crows going off shortly before seeing turkeys out in the field.  Come to find out, a lot of other guys had noticed the same thing.  I've been hunting the same farm for over 20 years, and I can almost be assured that a crow will come and find me, and announce my presence to the others, and later I'll hear crows going off across the way just before turkeys come out into the field in front of my blind.

What's up with that?
Genesis 9:2-4 Ministries  of SW Bracken County, KY 
Lighthearted Confessions of a Cervid Serial Killer

bbcoach

shaman

Quote from: bbcoach on April 11, 2024, 06:58:32 AM
Here's a recent thread that may shed some light on your question.

https://oldgobbler.com/Forum/index.php/topic,117371.0.html

Cool thread!  Thanks.

I wonder what the motivation is with crows.  What gets them wound up with turkeys?
Genesis 9:2-4 Ministries  of SW Bracken County, KY 
Lighthearted Confessions of a Cervid Serial Killer

Marc

For me it is the ravens...

A turkey call calls them in for sure...  They (and crows) will rob the nests of eggs, and eat the polts...  And in turn turkeys do not like them.

Not sure whether those gobbles are a shock gobble, or irritation or both?
Did I do that?

Fly fishermen are born honest, but they get over it.

3bailey3

Had some hawks come to my calling today, two roost in trees nearby and were screaming, no turkey gobbled.

Kylongspur88

Quote from: shaman on April 11, 2024, 03:17:14 PM

Cool thread!  Thanks.

I wonder what the motivation is with crows.  What gets them wound up with turkeys?