OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Drumming Frequency

Started by Neill_Prater, April 10, 2024, 06:30:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Turkeyman

Quote from: blake_08 on April 11, 2024, 05:45:18 PM
https://youtu.be/UI5eEApUXhQ?si=JMTpDVZPZMLCZnxv

Here is the best video I've ever found of a gobbler drumming. For anyone who can't hear drumming in the woods, get some good earbuds or head phones and turn the volume up and you should be able to hear it in the video I posted. I'm one of the lucky ones, I can hear it from a good distance in the woods.

I think 90hz is too high. Seems to me like it's around 50hz based on frequency tones on YouTube, but I'm nobody to disagree with Dr. Williams.

I agree with your assessment of around 50 Hz or so. I was an electrician by trade thus I've been around many large 60 Hz transformers, humming away. I can also hear drumming and it seems something less than the 60 Hz.

Yoder409

Quote from: Robert HoagueThe range of frequencies that a turkey with good hearing can hear is 290 Hz to 5,250 Hz.

Humans with good hearing hear a range from 20 Hz to 20,000 Hz.

So, in nosing around, I found an article..........

If the above quote is, indeed, factual, that's blow a BIG old hole in the 50Hz -90Hz theory..........

PA elitist since 1979

The good Lord ain't made a gobbler I can't kill.  I just gotta be there at the right time.....  on the day he wants to die.

Yoder409

Then, there's this:

Quote from: Birds of North AmericaStrutting males emit a sound at intervals sounding like chump (0.08 seconds in duration, 1,000+ Hz) followed by a humm (pitch below 60 Hz; Hale et al. 1969 ); this is accompanied by rapid vibration of rectrices.

Somebody ain't right in their numbers.

A critter is NOT going to produce a sound that its fellow critters can't hear.
PA elitist since 1979