OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Thank the Lord! Georgia Bird Down!

Started by crucible02, April 09, 2024, 03:58:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

crucible02

I'm still relatively new to the forum but wanted to share a recent blessing!

Though I've killed a few birds in my hunting life, I didn't really get serious about turkey hunting until about 5 years ago. The problem was, I was terrible at it on my own. The birds I had killed before were because I went with someone who knew what they were doing. 2017 was the last turkey I killed (Berry College WMA with my father in law).

Needless to say, as soon as I got serious, I stopped killing turkeys haha!

What I did find is that the more I tried and failed, the better I felt I was getting at learning this game.

I didn't get to hunt opening day because I'm a pastor of a church with Easter activities all weekend. But I always take time off after Easter to chase birds. I decided not to go that Monday because I really needed some rest.

But I was determined to be in the woods on that Tuesday morning.

A wonderful family in our church owns some land in Meriwether County that they recently and graciously invited me to hunt whenever I want. It's small but there are turkeys around.

Got there a little before first light and eased to the backside of the pond dam leading to a creek bottom where I knew they liked to roost.

I listened for a while and owl hooted with no response other than another couple owls talking back to me lol

Finally, around 7:30, I decided to ease into the edge of a pasture that they like to use but also allowed me to see back toward the creek bottom.

I settled in and hit the wingbone... sounded pretty good to me.... But nothing.

So I tried a mouth call... my best call to be honest... But nothing.