North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Getting Close

Started by zelmo1, January 25, 2024, 06:38:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Yoder409

Quote from: eggshell on January 26, 2024, 04:49:36 PM
I up before dawn and running Maple sap to the sugar shack and firing up the evaporator by 8:00 most days. These mornings are almost as busy as turkey season for us syrup makers.

How many taps are you running, Mr. Eggo, sir ??
PA elitist since 1979

The good Lord ain't made a gobbler I can't kill.  I just gotta be there at the right time.....  on the day he wants to die.

eggshell

Yoder, I decided last year it was time to slow up. I currently have between 140 and 150 (lost count ) taps. They are all on tubing. I'm just a small hobby producer. i have about 300-400 I can tap, but these give me all I want to do. I am running a Smokey Lake drop flue evaporator and I don't Reverse Osmosis my sap. I guess I am kind of old school. I make about 15 to 20 gallons of syrup a year and quit when I am tired of doing it. I used to make as much as I could and sell, but I don't sell anymore. I got plenty of takers for free....LOL. I just like blessing my family and friends with it. The FDA and ag inspectors just wanted more and more upgrades to my shack and I decided I didn't want to spend anymore money, it's all paid for. So I make it and give it away and they can shove it where the sun don't shine. Do you make syrup?

Yoder409

I made some recreationally about 20 years ago.......just to see if I could.  Hand brace and auger bit......hand-cut pex spiles.......lidded 5 gallon buckets.   Maybe ran 30 or 40 taps.

Now, I let my uncle and a good friend tap on our property.  They run 300-400 taps, which is hardly even the tip of the iceberg to what's available to them, there.    Wood fired evap.  My uncle home built (yep....in his garage) the R.O. they're using.  I get more syrup, this way....for FREE....than when I worked at it myself.     :toothy9: :toothy9: