OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

What is your favorite slate topped combo

Started by Alabama556, January 18, 2024, 07:59:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alabama556

I am having a couple of slate calls built and I don't know the differences in the various types of slate. Any recommendations on what type of slate and what to use as a sound board?

Yoder409

I am a firm believer of good, old-fashioned gray/black slate over a glass sound board.

I've been using a walnut pot one I built myself for about the last 20 years.  No idea how many turkeys it's caused to die.  I also have a great walnut "Professional Series" by Hally Caller (good luck trying to find one, now), a figured canarywood by Redbeard (DUDE !!), and a recently acquired bubinga one from Lon Trice, which is OUTSTANDING !!!
PA elitist since 1979

The good Lord ain't made a gobbler I can't kill.  I just gotta be there at the right time.....  on the day he wants to die.

TJ3152

I use a Buster Halford persimmon red slate with JLH canarywood and frogwood strikers that is pure turkey! 

Greg Massey

I love a good slate call of all colors of slate in a controlled environment.. But most of the time the weather in my area doesn't like slate calls in the early spring season. So my go to calls are ceramic and crystal ... But now I do have all the flavors of slate pot calls regardless ...

3bailey3

My favorite is a Bill Lyman grey double state, next is a Buster red slate and next would be a Townsend purple slate, I have another from a guy here in Ms. I can't even remember his name but it's a good one, has that mellow tone!

bbcoach