OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Complete novice to hunting in general

Started by markelljones, March 27, 2022, 07:05:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

markelljones

As the topic reads, I will be a first time turkey hunter come this April. I own a 12 gauge shotgun and am an alright shot (police, military). I'm familiar with the laws in the in Maryland and plan on hunting on public land (me and a friend of mine who is also a complete novice). I understand hunting with someone who has some experience under their belt would be better, but it isn't possible. I also understand that we're doomed to fail, haha. Could you guys offer any tips on gear selection and newcomer strategies? Anything, and I mean anything, is greatly appreciated. (We have a little over a month to prepare, if need be).

I posted this under a different topic as well. Apologies in advance.

g8rvet

Hopefully lots of folks will chime in.   Just a few random thoughts.

Know your gun, the load and your range.  You can read all the options and chokes and loads. Start simple.  Test fire your gun at 20, 30 and 40 yards.  Determine your range and then stick to it.  Some folks say you should 100 pellets in the 10" ring, but I think that is a little light.  I think minimum of a well patterned 120 would be my preference and I want better. 

Pick two simple calls.  Learn to cluck quietly, learn a tree yelp.  Scratching leaves will kill as many birds as calls will. 

Scout. A lot. The more you scout, the better you will know the terrain you are hunting. 

Have fun.  A bird in the hand is the ultimate goal, but if you do not enjoy a hunt like I had today (3 miles of up and down walking, chasing, moving, calling, repositioning and just learning the new woods I am hunting).  Enjoy the process, the harvest will happen.