turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

First attempts

Started by turkeyhunter91, February 02, 2021, 05:11:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

turkeyhunter91

I am new to trumpet calls and have been doing alot of reading about them lately. I decided to try and make myself 1 and since the weather was preventing us from working I decided to head to the wood shop. I used walnut and those other 2 are American chestnut. I tried several different internal deminsions before I finally found what I was looking for. It's a little raspy but I like it and find the more I use it the better I'm getting, until a week and half ago I hadn't used a trumpet or wingbone very little. My wife made me a few lanyards for them I'm hoping to keep getting it figured out and hopefully have some luck with 1 of them this spring.

JeffC

Congrats and wish you luck killing a big Tom with your own Trumpet. Made my own pot call years ago with basic hand tools, killed a Tom with it , very rewarding moment. Look forward to pictures when you are successful.
Print by Madison Cline, on Flickr

merocustomcalls

Be careful, its addicting!  I said the same thing in 2006 and never stopped.

Tom007

Looking good. Best of luck.......
"Solo hunter"

johnnyk2000

That is pretty cool. Good luck and post pictures

Chris O

That's awesome!!! I have thought about trying that myself. I hope you get it done this spring with your call. I am sure you will have success if you hunt it, share pictures when you do.

EZ

It sure is fun.
You not tapering your mouthpiece?

turkeyhunter91

i have been thinking about making some tapered mouthpieces and a few more trumpets. does the tapered mouth piece change the sound or mainly for looks? thanks everyone, i am new to trumpets so i appreciate any tips,

EZ

Look at how others make their Mouthpieces. Most are tapered, some are "flat" top and bottom.
Makes them much more comfortable and easier to run.