OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Where’d the turkeys go?  (Read 4311 times)

Offline TeeGee

Where’d the turkeys go?
« on: May 01, 2020, 09:49:35 PM »
I posted the beginning of this in a different section, but just to focus on my current question here:

I’m new to turkey hunting.  Decided to try it this year.  Got all geared up, to hunt on the private land - about 50 acres - right around my house in upstate NY. Had a bunch of gobblers making noise all around my house, one late morning a week or two ago I had 3 jakes right off my front porch.  Then in the last week... nothing.  No sound, no sightings, no sign. I’ve walked the woods trying to get a response from a crow and owl call.  Nothing.  I had been patterning my gun in the area, so may have scared them off.  Or maybe the bad weather shut them down.  Or maybe the rut peak passed.  Or for whatever reason - as far as I can tell - they just moved on. 

My question is: what might have happened to them?  Is it possible they’re still here but just quieter?  If they moved on, any idea why?  Did I scare them off?  For good?  Basically I want to know what happened to all the dang turkey! 

Offline silvestris

• Longbeard
Re: Where’d the turkeys go?
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2020, 11:50:28 PM »
I’ve walked the woods trying to get a response from a crow and owl call.

I would think that you have a Saldu problem.
“[T]he changing environment will someday be totally and irrevocably unsuitable for the wild turkey.  Unless mankind precedes the birds in extinction, we probably will not be hunting turkeys for too much longer.”  Ken Morgan, “Turkey Hunting, A One Man Game

Offline TeeGee

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2020, 10:18:30 AM »
Ok, I’ll bite.  And a saldu problem is...?

Offline AppalachianHollers